Hall & Prior recognise exceptional staff at 2015 Directors Awards

Hall & Prior Directors Awards 2015

Hall & Prior was proud to acknowledge its outstanding staff at the 2015 Directors’ Award event on December 17. The annual ceremony recognised 37 staff members and four teams at the University Club of Western Australia.

This year we recognised five individuals for outstanding achievement, 22 people and one team for outstanding care and service and four of our Directors of Nursing for outstanding leadership. Four teams of the year were selected, along with two recipients for the Rising Star Award.

Paul Richards from the Australian Aged Care Quality Industry presented Tuohy’s Director of Nursing Jayne Cummings and her staff with their Better Practice Award, after their win was announced in November. Read more about Tuohy’s Better Practice win here.

Hall & Prior Directors Awards 2015

Since the creation of the Directors’ Awards, Chief Executive Officer Graeme Prior and Executive Director Michael Hall have presented 17 scholarships to staff who have shown an interest in further studies. This year a scholarship to the value of $2,000 was awarded to Annie Sigdel (pictured below), who is a Clinical Nurse Manager at Hamersley.

 Hall & Prior Directors' Awards 2015

Our most prestigious award, the St Lukes Medallion, is reserved for dedicated long-term employees who have made exceptional individual contributions to Hall & Prior and the achievement of our vision, values and philosophy. This year the St Lukes Medallion was presented to Sally Gutman, Director of Nursing at Hamersley.

Early in her nursing career, Sally (pictured below) had extensive experience in rural Western Australia in Geraldton, Kalgoorlie and Carnarvon. Sally was previously the Director of Nursing at Belmont before she moved to Hamersley and she specialises in palliative care and continence management.

 Hall & Prior Directors' Awards 2015

Each year, our homes are reviewed by the Australian Aged Care Quality Agency to ensure they, along with all other residential care services, are compliant with the standards set by the Australian Government. In 2015, five of our Western Australian homes and our Clarence Community service were successful in their accreditation.

To celebrate these milestones, we present each Director of Nursing with a rose to plant in the garden at the home. This year, funds raised from the sale of the roses will go towards Anzac education in schools and war veteran-related projects, to mark the centenary of the Anzac landing in Gallipoli.

Congratulations to Carmel Greenwood-Home of Agmaroy Aged Care Home, Cindy Skinner of Belmont, Sally Gutman of Hamersley, Margaret Tranquille of Leighton, Sharron Magennis of McDougall Park and Deborah Sinclair-Lane and Cheryl Clark from Clarence Community Care.

Hall & Prior Directors' Awards 2015

The evening's guest speaker was Professor Colin Masters, who is the Executive Director of the Mental Health Research Institute and Laureate Professor at the University of Melbourne. His work has had a major influence on Alzheimer’s disease research worldwide.

Hall & Prior Directors' Awards 2015

Congratulations to all of our award winners.

Hall & Prior Directors' Awards 2015

Outstanding Achievement:

- Peter Moana, Fresh Fields Laundry Manager

- Lillian Moorcroft (Speech Pathologist) and Christine Kowalski (Dietitian)

- Syril Abraham and Ben Foster, who work together in our finance department.


Hall & Prior Directors' Awards 2015

Outstanding Care and Service:

Belmont Aged Care Home:

  Elenita Piano-McLeod, Owen Hesford and Pratibha Regmi.

Concorde Aged Care Home:

  Annie Soh, Cindy Ngieng and Siobhan O'Dea.

Kensington Park Aged Care Home:

  Rahmo Farah, Kiranjot Kaur and Phisamai Nok Khonwai

Leighton Aged Care Home:

The Leighton Occupational Therapy Team, made up of Pamela Worthington, Kate Poultney and Christine Perejuan.

McDougall Park Aged Care Home:

Elba Bonilla Jimenez and Julie Haddrick

Mosman Park Aged Care Home:

Caroline Lawson and Charisse Joshi

Rockingham Aged Care Home:

Cindy Vegar and Yvonne Wales

Tuohy Aged Care Home:

Merla Julve and Mina Pindolia

Windsor Park Aged Care Home:

Kung Byrne, Dawn Sherratt, Louise O'Hare and Julie Warhurst


Hall & Prior Directors' Awards 2015

Outstanding Leadership:

Deborah Sinclair-Lane, Executive Manager, Clarence Estate

Sharron Magennis, Director of Nursing, McDougall Park Aged Care Home

Jayne Cummings, Residential Care Manager, Tuohy Aged Care Home

Sharyn McDavitt, Executive Manager, Windsor Park Aged Care Home


Hall & Prior Directors' Awards 2015

Teams of the Year:

Hamersley Nursing Home     

Clarence Community Care    

Coolibah - Health and Care Services 

Gardening Team


Hall & Prior Directors' Awards 2015

Rising Star Award:

Kraig Hoogland

Linda Jackson



Aged care residents and babies are forging special bonds through playgroups in NSW

Aged care residents and babies are...

SBS World News ran a story over the weekend about the innovative scheme - Timeless Play - where...

Read more >
Hall & Prior takes over Montana Nursing Home

Hall & Prior takes over Montana...

Hall & Prior takes over operations and management of Montana Nursing Home in Mosman, NSW.

Read more >
Hall & Prior staff 100% Vaccinated

Hall & Prior staff 100% Vaccinated

Hall & Prior's staff are now 100% vaccinated against COVID-19 (first dose).

Read more >